CWPA Announces Time Changes for Pacific Coast Division Championship Schedule

CWPA Announces Time Changes for Pacific Coast Division Championship Schedule

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- Due to pool availability concerns during the morning of Saturday, April 16, the start time for the Pacific Coast Division Championship set for California Polytechnic State University is being moved back approximately three hours to 11:20 a.m.

The Sunday, April 17 time schedule is not impacted by this adjustement as contests will now begin promptly at 11:20 a.m. and run on a 65-minute schedule through the final game of the day at 9:05 p.m.

Among the largest divisions in the Collegiate Water Polo Association, the Pacific Coast Division will feature one of the best title tournaments this season as No. 1-nationally ranked Cal Poly will need to hold off the University of California-Los Angeles "A", San Diego State University, the University of California-San Diego, the University of California-Santa Barbara, the University of California-Irvine, the University of California-Los Angeles "B", Loyola Marymount University, the University of Southern California and Pepperdine University for the division's automatic bid to the National Collegiate Club Championship set for May 6-7 at the University of Notre Dame.

Due to Cal Poly capturing the program's third consecutive and sixth overall National Collegiate Club crown (2003, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2010), the Pacific Coast Division receives a second berth in the NCCC field to join the host Midwest Division as the only divisions with more than one berth to women's collegiate club water polo's championship event.

Pacific Coast Division Championship

Cal Poly State University, San Luis Obispo, Calif.

Teams are seeded into the following brackets:

  Bracket A Bracket B Bracket C

  1st Seed -
Cal Poly
2nd Seed - UCLA 3rd Seed - 
San Diego State 

  4th Seed - 
UC-San Diego 
5th Seed -
UC-Santa Barbara 
6th Seed - 

  7th Seed - 
8th Seed - Loyola Marymount 9th Seed -

  10th Seed - 

Saturday, April 16, 2011

11:20 2nd Seed - UCLA
vs. 8th Seed - Loyola Marymount

12:25 3rd Seed - San Diego State
vs. 9th Seed - USC

1:30 4th Seed - UC-San Diego
vs. 10th Seed - Pepperdine

2:35 1st Seed - Cal Poly
vs. 7th Seed - UCLA "B"

3:40 5th Seed - UC-Santa Barbara
vs. 8th Seed - Loyola Marymount

4:55 6th Seed - UC-Irvine
vs. 9th Seed - USC

5:50 1st Seed - Cal Poly
vs. 4th Seed - UC-San Diego

6:55 2nd Seed - UCLA
vs. 5th Seed - UC-Santa Barbara

8:00 3rd Seed - San Diego State
vs. 6th Seed - UC-Irvine

9:05 7th Seed - UCLA "B"
vs. 10th Seed - Pepperdine

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Game No.

8:20 1st Seed - Cal Poly
vs. 10th Seed - Pepperdine

9:30 4th Seed - UC-San Diego
vs. 7th Seed - UCLA "B"

10:40 1st in Bracket B vs. 1st in Bracket C 1
11:50 2nd in Bracket B vs. 2nd in Bracket C 2
1:00 3rd in Bracket B vs. 3rd in Bracket C 3
2:10 Winner Game 1 vs. 1st in Bracket A 1st Place
3:20 Winner Game 2 vs. 2nd in Bracket A 4th Place
4:30 Winner Game 3 vs. 3rd in Bracket A 7th Place

Loser Game 1 is third; Loser Game 2 is sixth; Loser Game 3 is ninth; 4th in Bracket A is 10th
Teams listed first wear dark caps and are home on the scoreboard. Host team always wears dark caps and is listed first on the scoreboard regardless of seed. 

View: Mobile | Desktop