CWPA Announces Tentative Change to 2011 Men's Collegiate Club Great Lakes Division Schedule

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announces a tentative change to the 2011 Men's Collegiate Club Great Lakes Division schedule.

Due to the University of Notre Dame being unable to host on September 24-25, the first regular season tournament is tentatively moved one week later to October 1-2. The date and times of the event may change based on pool availability and the ability of the competiting squads to travel to South Bend, Indiana on the corrected date.

Following the division's lone regular season tournament, the eight-team division of Grand Valley State University, Loyola University, Miami University (Ohio), Ohio University, Ohio State University, Univiersity of Dayton, University of Illinois-Chicago and University of Notre Dame will trek to the division championship on October 22-23 at Ohio University in Athens, Ohio with a berth to the National Collegiate Club Championship at stake.

The history of the division has been dominated by Grand Valley State as the Lakers have taken eight of the past nine crowns since the Great Lakes Division was reformed in 2002. One of a few divisions to split and then remerge, the Great Lakes Division divided in 1999 into the Great Plains and Heartland Divisions before reformed in 2002 with mostly new members.

Four teams have captured Great Lakes Division crowns as Iowa State University (1997), Western Illinois University (1998), GVSU (2010, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002) and Illinois-Chicago (2009) hold championship plaques.

University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Ind. (Date and times tentative)
Saturday, October 1, 2011

9:00 Ohio State University vs. Miami University (OH)

10:10 Grand Valley State University vs. Ohio University

11:20 University of Notre Dame vs. University of Dayton

12:30 University of Ill., Chicago vs. Ohio State University

1:40 Grand Valley State University vs. Loyola University

2:50 Miami University (OH) vs. Ohio University

4:00 Ohio State University vs. University of Dayton

5:10 University of Ill.-Chicago vs. Loyola University

6:20 University of Notre Dame vs. Grand Valley State University

7:30 University of Dayton vs. Ohio University

8:40 Miami University (OH) vs. Loyola University


Sunday, October 2, 2011  

9:00 University of Notre Dame vs. Ohio University

10:10 University of Ill.-Chicago vs. Grand Valley State University

11:20 University of Dayton vs. Miami University (OH)

12:30 Ohio State University vs. Loyola University

1:40 University of Notre Dame vs. University of Ill.-Chicago


Great Lakes Division Championship

Ohio University, Athens, Ohio

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Game No.
11:30 1st Seed
vs. 8th Seed 1
12:40 4th Seed
vs. 5th Seed 2
1:50 2nd Seed
vs. 7th Seed 3
3:00 3rd Seed
vs. 6th Seed 4
4:10 Loser Game 2 vs. Loser Game 1 5
5:20 Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 6
6:30 Loser Game 4 vs. Loser Game 3 7
7:40 Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4 8

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Game No.

9:00 Loser Game 7 vs. Loser Game 5 Seventh Place
10:10 Loser Game 8 vs. Loser Game 6 Third Place
11:20 Winner Game 6 vs. Winner Game 8 First Place
12:30 Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 7 Fifth Place

Teams listed first wear dark caps and are home on the scoreboard. Host team always wears dark caps and is listed first on the scoreboard regardless of seed. 

View: Mobile | Desktop