CWPA Announces Changes to 2011 Men's Collegiate Club Heartland Division Schedule

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) released a schedule change for the upcoming 2011 Men's National Collegiate Club Heartland Division season.

Due to Illinois Institute of Technology electing not to compete during the 2011 season, the Heartland Division schedule changes from the previously announced nine-team format to an eight-team draw.

Now comprised of Augustana College, Carleton College, Grinnell College, Knox College, Macalester College, Monmouth College, Saint John's University (Minn.) and Saint Mary's University (Minn.), the division will feature 32-regular season games at two sites to set the field for the 12-game division championship  at Macalester College in St. Paul, Minn. on October 22-23 with a berth to the 2011 National Collegiate Club Championship on the line.

Regular season competition commences on September 24-25 with 16 games at Grinnell College in Grinnell, Iowa, before completing on October 1-2 with 16 games at St. John's University in Collegeville, Minn.

In the history of the division, the four-time champion Macalester Scots (2006, 2005, 2000, 1999) and three-time reigning champion Monmouth Scots (2010, 2009, 2008) have combined for seven of the Heartland's 12 previous titles. Grinnell (2001, 2004, 2007) is tied with Monmouth for the second most championships in division history with three, while Saint Mary's accounts for the two other crowns (2002, 2003).


Grinnell College, Grinnell, Iowa

Saturday, September 24, 2011

9:00 Knox College vs. Carleton College

10:10 Macalester College vs. Saint Mary's University

11:20 Grinnell College vs. Saint John's University

12:30 Monmouth College vs. Knox College

1:40 Macalester College vs. Augustana College

2:50 Carleton College vs. Saint Mary's University

4:00 Knox College vs. Saint John's University

5:10 Monmouth College vs. Augustana College

6:20 Grinnell College vs. Macalester College

7:30 Saint John's University vs. Saint Mary's University


Sunday, September 25, 2011  

9:00 Carleton College vs. Augustana College

10:10 Grinnell College vs. Saint Mary's University

11:20 Monmouth College vs. Macalester College

12:30 Saint John's University vs. Carleton College

1:40 Knox College vs. Augustana College

2:50 Grinnell College vs. Monmouth College

St. John's University, Collegeville, Minn. 

Saturday, October 1, 2011  

9:00 Monmouth College vs. Saint Mary's University

10:10 Grinnell College vs. Carleton College

11:20 Knox College vs. Augustana College

12:30 Macalester College vs. Saint Mary's University

1:40 Monmouth College vs. Carleton College

2:50 Saint John's University vs. Augustana College

4:00 Knox College vs. Grinnell College

5:10 Macalester College vs. Carleton College

6:20 Saint John's University vs. Monmouth College

7:30 Knox College vs. Saint Mary's University

8:40 Grinnell College vs. Augustana College


Sunday, October 2, 2011  

9:00 Saint John's University vs. Carleton College

10:10 Knox College vs. Macalester College

11:20 Monmouth College vs. Grinnell College

12:30 Augustana College vs. Saint Mary's University

1:40 Saint John's University vs. Macalester College

Heartland Division Championship

Macalester College, St. Paul, Minn.

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Game No.
11:20 1st Seed
vs. 8th Seed
12:30 4th Seed
vs. 5th Seed
1:40 2nd Seed
vs. 7th Seed
2:50 3rd Seed
vs. 6th Seed
4:00 Loser Game 2 vs. Loser Game 1 5
5:10 Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 6
6:20 Loser Game 4 vs. Loser Game 3 7
7:30 Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4 8

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Game No.

9:00 Loser Game 7 vs. Loser Game 5 Seventh Place
10:10 Loser Game 8 vs. Loser Game 6 Third Place
11:20 Winner Game 6 vs. Winner Game 8 First Place
12:30 Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 7 Fifth Place

Teams listed first wear dark caps and are home on the scoreboard. Host team always wears dark caps and is listed first on the scoreboard regardless of seed.

View: Mobile | Desktop