29 Collegiate Water Polo Association Student-Athletes Named to 2010 ACWPC Men's Varsity All-America Teams

Howie Kalter
Howie Kalter

2010 ACWPC All-America Team (PDF)

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- 29 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) men's varsity student-athletes garnered accolades from the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) as ACWPC Executive Director Bryan Kimbell released the organization's Division I, II and III All-America teams. 

Leading the charge is 2010 CWPA Eastern Champion St. Francis College which tied with the University of Southern California for the second most All-America honors in the country with five, two behind the University of California's high of seven.

Overall, the league placed athletes on the first (six), second (one) and honorable mention (22) teams, including 13 honorable mention selections in Division I. 

Among the Division I recipients, Saint Francis was among a short list of dominant teams as the Terriers' five selections topped the University of California-Los Angeles (four), the University of California-Irvine (four), Loyola Marymount University (four) and Stanford University (three).

For the Terriers, Boris Plavsic (Sr., Belgrade, Serbia/ETS "Rade Koncar"), Nemanja Simonovic (Jr., Belgrade, Serbia/XII Belgrade), Stefan Gencic (Sr., Belgrade, Serbia/Tenth HS Mihajlo Pupin), Marko Gencic (So., Belgrade, Serbia/Sports Gymnasium) and Nikola Djuric (Sr., Belgrade, Serbia/IV Belogradska Gimnazija) all picked up honors on the Honorable Mention team to join Mike Merlone (Sr., Atherton, Calif./The Menlo School) and Matt Hale (Sr., Atherton, Calif./The Menlo School) of Princeton University, Ali Arat (Gr., Istanbul, Turkey/Sisli Terakki Secondary/Koc University) and Ryan Hultman (Sr., Newport Beach, Calif./Corona del Mar) of Fordham University, Svetozar Stefanovic (So., Belgrade, Serbia/ Russian Embassy) of Brown University, Howie Kalter (Durham, N.H./Phillips Academy Andover) and Richie Hyden (Sr., Melbourne, Australia/Greenwich (Conn.)) of Bucknell University and Luke Baldwin (Sr., La Grange Park, Ill./Fenwick) of the United States Naval Academy.

In Division II, Mercyhurst College goalie Andy Sekulski (Sr., Mohnton, Pa./Governor Mifflin) earned Player of the Year honors to join teammates Brett Luehmann (Fr., Ancaster, Ontario/Ancaster) and Kane Ashton (Sr., Orlando, Fla./Lake Mary) on the seven-member First Team.

Johns Hopkins University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Washington & Jefferson College led the way in Division III as the Bluejays, Engineers and Presidents each garnered three All-America accolodes.

On the first team, JHU's Alex Whittam (So., Hillsborough, CA/Sacred Heart Prep) and Jeremy Selbst (Sr., Old Greenwich, Conn./Greenwich) join MIT's John Preis (Sr., Los Angeles, Calif./Phillips Exeter) in comprising nearly half of the top squad among small college's.  Ross Schofield (So., Greenwich, Conn./Greenwich) of Johns Hopkins earned Second Team recognition, while Sam Mitchell (Jr., Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif./Chadwick School) and Clayton Witter (So., Douglassville, Pa./Hill School) of Connecticut College, Sam Hyrne (Fr., Sunnyvale, Calif./Homestead) and Ali Khan (So., Lake Zurich, Ill./Adlai E. Stevenson) of Pennsylvania State University-The Behrend College and MIT's Columbus Leonard (Jr., Mill Valley, Calif./St. Ignatius) and Craig Cheney (Fr., Sherwood, Ore./Newberg) join W&J's Cameron Chaves (So., La Canada, Calif./La Canada), Bill Krause (Sr., Blue Bell, Pa./Wissahickon) and Andrew Rish (Jr., North East, Pa./Cathedral Prep) on the Honorable Mention Team.

Among goalies, the CWPA dominated the All-America list as Merlone, Djuric, Sekulski, Selbst, Leonard and Witter each picked up honors to account for 40% of the 15 goalies recognized by the ACWPC, the highest percentage of any league.  Further, nearly 1/3 of all-athletes recognized for their play competed in the CWPA as 31% of the 94 honored athletes called the Collegiate Water Polo Associatiton home and contended for the CWPA Eastern title during the 2010.

The athletes selected are nominated and voted upon by the ACWPC member coaches each year and recognized for their individual efforts to help their teams succeed. In order to be voted into any of the All-America teams, the athlete must have been voted on by at least two coaches from other institutions.

View: Mobile | Desktop