CWPA Releases 2011 Women's Varsity Southern Division Schedule

CWPA Releases 2011 Women's Varsity Southern Division Schedule

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The Collegiate Water Polo Association has released the compilation schedule for the 2011 Women's Varsity Western Division.

Unlike past seasons in which the league established the schedule, the division teams scheduled their own head-to-head meetings during the season and established the slate of contests which will decide the division race.

Further, unlike the North-South-West format of old, the division champion will be decided based on regular season results rather than a championship tournament at the end of the regular season.

The new format, established for only one season and brought on in the aftermath by the split of the league prior to the 2010 season into Division I and Division I subsets with each side of the conference competing for their own Eastern Championship, creates some unique and new match-ups in the Division I league structure.

With the eradication of the Northern Division from the North-South-West division format of previous years, the majority of the Northern Division teams fold into the Southern Division.

Harvard University and Brown University move into the Southern Division this year, as the Crimson and Bears join prior South members Princeton University, George Washington University, the University of Maryland and past Western Division member Salem International University.

In other division placements, Bucknell University, which formerly was a member of the Southern Division, and past Northern Division member Hartwick College are now members of the Western Division with the University of Michigan, Indiana University, Gannon University and Mercyhurst College.

In addition to the new format, the division results will not decide which teams advance to the CWPA Eastern Championship with a chance at capturing the league's automatic berth to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Championship as the six Western Division teams and the six squads in the Southern Division will all advance to the championship for the first-ever, all-inclusive Eastern Championship.

The  seedings for the CWPA Eastern Championship will be decided by a vote based on the cumulative results of the teams in the division against one another and versus the league members in the other division (Western vs. Western, Southern vs. Southern, Southern vs. Western).

Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

8:00 Harvard University vs. Brown University

Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.

Saturday, March 5, 2011

7:00 Princeton University vs. George Washington University

George Washington University, Washington, D.C.

Friday, March 25, 2011

7:00 George Washington University vs.
Salem International University

Bucknell University, Lewisburg, Pa.

Saturday, April 9, 2011

10:00 Harvard University
Princeton University

University of Maryland, College Park, Md.

Friday, April 15, 2011

7:00 University of Maryland vs.
George Washington University

Saturday, April 16, 2011

10:00 George Washington University vs.
Harvard University
12:30 University of Maryland vs.
Brown University
2:00 Princeton University vs.
Salem International University
6:00 George Washington University vs.
Brown University
7:30 University of Maryland vs.
Princeton University
9:00 Harvard University vs.
Salem International University

Sunday, April 17, 2011

8:00 University of Maryland vs.
Salem International University
9:30 Princeton University vs.
Brown University
11:00 University of Maryland vs.
Harvard University
12:30 Brown University vs.
Salem International University

View: Mobile | Desktop