Bucknell University to Host 2011 Women's Eastern College Athletic Conference Championship on February 26-27

Bucknell University to Host 2011 Women's Eastern College Athletic Conference Championship on February 26-27

CENTERVILLE, Mass. -- Bucknell University will serve as the host for the 2011 Women's Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Championship set for February 26-27 in Lewisburg, Pa. at the Kinney Natatorium. 

The championship will feature the host Bison, Brown University, Harvard University, the University of Maryland and Princeton University of the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA), in addition to Marist College, Iona College and Wagner College of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC).

Princeton earned the No. 1 seed from the seeding committee, as Bucknell (No. 2), Brown (No. 3), Marist (No. 4), Maryland (No. 5), Harvard (No. 6), Iona (No. 7) and Wagner (No. 8).

In first round action, Princeton will face Wagner (8:00 a.m.), Marist meets Maryland (10:30 a.m.), Bucknell takes on Iona (noon) and Brown squares off with fellow Ivy League institution Harvard (1:30 p.m.). 

Following a pair of consolation games at 4:00 and 5:30 p.m. to set the teams for the seventh and fifth place games on Sunday morning, the semifinals will occur with the winner of the Princeton-Wagner game meeting the victor of the Marist-Maryland contest (7:00 p.m.) and the winner of the Bucknell-Iona game locking horns with the Brown-Harvard victor (8:30 p.m.).

On Sunday, competition resumes with the seventh (10:00 a.m.), fifth (11:30 a.m.) and third (1:00 p.m.) place games leading up to the title contest (2:30 p.m.)

Selected and seeded by the ECAC Championship Committee, ECACs is one of only two championship tournaments in which teams from both East Coast women's water polo conference (CWPA, MAAC) compete for a title. 

The other championship tournament will also be hosted at a CWPA institution this year when the University of Michigan, which is not a member of the ECAC, hosts the National Collegiate Athletic Conference (NCAA) Championship on May 13-15.

In the history of the ECAC women's water polo championship, Princeton holds the most titles with six (2000, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007), while defending champion Brown (2009, 2010), Hartwick College (2002, 2004) and Bucknell (2008) have also claimed titles as a CWPA institution has claimed all 11 previous tournaments.

Directions to Kinney Natatorium in the Kenneth Langone Athletic Center can be found at http://www.bucknell.edu/x1187.xml.  Fans should be aware that Bucknell will be hosting several events on campus during the weekend, so parking is only permitted in legal "visitor" spots on campus.  Parking is not permitted in the student, faculty or staff lots.

Officials will be assigned by the Collegiate Water Polo Association, which provides referees for both CWPA and MAAC regular and postseason events.

2011 ECAC Women's Water Polo Championship

Saturday, February 26
Time Home vs. Away Game No.
9:00 No. 1 Princeton vs. No. 8 Wagner 1
10:30 No. 4 Marist vs. No. 5 Maryland 2
Noon No. 2 Bucknell vs. No. 7 Iona 3
1:30 No. 3 Brown vs. No. 6 Harvard 4
4:00 Loser Game 2 vs. Loser Game 1 5
5:30 Loser Game 4 vs. Loser Game 3 6
7:00 Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 7
8:30 Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4 8
Sunday, February 27
Time Home vs. Away Game No.
10:00 Loser Game 6 vs. Loser Game 5 Seventh Place
11:30 Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6 Fifth Place
1:00 Loser Game 8 vs. Loser Game 7 Third Place
2:30 Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8 First Place

View: Mobile | Desktop