2011 CWPA Southern Division All-Conference Team Announced; Campbell Named Most Valuable Player

Allison Campbell
Allison Campbell

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The University of Maryland's Allison Campbell (So., Maple Ridge, B.C./Maple Ridge Secondary) earned Most Valuable Player honors as the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announced the 2011 Women's Varsity Southern Division All-Conference Team this evening at the organization's CWPA Eastern Championship Hall of Fame Banquet.

Voted on by the division's head coaches, six field players and a goalie are selected for both first and second team honors.  In addition, the coaches vote for Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year honors.

The award marks the second in as many years for Campbell who picked up the Southern Division Rookie of the Year plaque with All-Southern Division First Team honors at home in College Park, Md. during the 2010 CWPA Eastern Championship Banquet. 

Further, it marks the first Most Valuable Player of the Year award in the history of the Terrapins' program since the team went varsity.

One of four Terrapins' selections to the All-Conference Team, Campbell is joined on the First Team by goalie Shelby Reyes (Jr., Miami, Fla./Gulliver)Ally Beck (Sr., Mission Viejo, Calif./Santa Margarita) and Katie Ermakova (Fr., Columbia, Md./Wilde Lake) complete the Maryland selections as the pair garnered Second Team notice.

In addition to the All-Conference selections, the 2011 Southern Division champion Terrapins picked up another of the three major division awards as head coach Carl Salyer was elected by his peers as the 2011 Coach of the Year.  The laurel marks the second Coach of the Year nod of Salyer's six-year tenure at his alma mater as he previously garnered the 2007 Southern Division award.

Division runner-up Princeton University is tied with Maryland for the most All-Conference (four) and First Team (two) selections as Katie Rigler (Fr., Fullerton, Calif./Rosary) and Brittany Zwirner (So., Santa Ana, Calif./Foothill) grabbed top honors.  Molly McBee (Fr., Palos Verdes, Calif./Palos Verdes) and goalie Kristen Ward (Jr., Sacramento, Calif./St. Francis) round out the Tigers' nods with Second Team recognition.

The award marks the third in the career of Ward as she previously earned First (2009) and Second (2010) Team honors.

Due to the elimination of the Northern Division prior to this season to bring the conference structure down to two divisions, multiple student-athletes are receiving All-Conference nods in a new division for the first time.

For former Northern Division member Brown University, freshman Kate Woods (Fr., La Jolla, Calif./La Jolla) receives All-South First Team notice and the division's Rookie of the Year plaque.

A six-time weekly award winner in the CWPA during the 2011 campaign, she notched the April 4 and April 25 Southern Division Player of the Week prizes, along with the February 28, March 28, April 18 and April 25 Southern Division Rookie of the Week awards.  

On the second team, the Bears' Joanna Wohlmuth (Sr., Manhattan Beach, Calif./Mira Costa) earned notice for the second year in a row after picking up 2010 All-North First Team laurels.

Fellow former Northern Division institution Harvard University receives two All-Conference nods in Devan Kennifer (Jr., Monterey, Calif./Santa Catalina) and Monica Zdrojewski (Jr., Laguna Niguel, Calif./Dana Hills).

The 2009 Northern Division Rookie of the Year, Kennifer claims her third consecutive First Team award following notice in the 2010 and 2009 seasons.  Zdrojewski notches her third All-Conference spot as well as she previously received First (2010) and Second (2009) Team honors.

Rounding out the All-South selections are Allison Peotter (Jr., Newport Beach, Calif./Corona del Mar) and Megan Walker (Jr., San Clemente, Calif./San Clemente) of George Washington University.

Peotter claims her third All-Conference First Team berth after nods in 2009 and 2010, while Walker earns her first selection by the coaches to the division's elite list.

South Team
Player of the Year: Allison Campbell (University of Maryland
Coach of the Year: Carl Salyer (University of Maryland)
Rookie of the Year: Kate Woods (Brown University)
First Team
Shelby Reyes (Goalie) University of Maryland
Allison Campbell University of Maryland
Katie Rigler
Princeton University
Brittany Zwirner Princeton University
Kate Woods Brown University
Allison Peotter George Washington University
Devan Kennifer
Harvard University

Second Team
Kristen Ward (Goalie) Princeton University
Molly McBee Princeton University
Ally Beck University of Maryland
Katie Ermakova University of Maryland
Joanna Wohlmuth Brown University
Megan Walker George Washington University
Monica Zdrojewski
Harvard University

View: Mobile | Desktop