2011 CWPA Western Division All-Conference Team Announced; Mensink Named Most Valuable Player

Charlotte Mensink
Charlotte Mensink

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- Hartwick College's Charlotte Mensink (Jr., Nijerdal, Netherlands) earned Most Valuable Player honors as the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announced the 2011 Women's Varsity Western Division All-Conference Team this evening at the organization's CWPA Eastern Championship Hall of Fame Banquet.

Voted on by the division's head coaches, six field players and a goalie are selected for both first and second team honors.  In addition, the coaches vote for Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year honors.

The first player in CWPA history to earn a women's varsity MVP award in their first seasoni n the league since NCAA competition began in 2001, Mensink is one of four Hartwick selections to the All-Conference team.

Joining the division's Most Valuable Player on the All-West First Team is goalie Jessica Dorman (Sr., Auckland, New Zealand) as the Hawks tied with division champion the University of Michigan for the most selections (four) and first team recipients (two).

The selection marks Dorman's fourth All-Conference nod as she previously picked up honors in the Northern Division with a pair of First Team nods (2010, 2008) and a Second Team award (2009). 

With the elimination of the Northern Division prior to this season to bring the conference structure down to two divisions, multiple student-athletes are receiving All-Conference nods in a new division for the first time.

Teammates Lisa Bass (Jr., Montreal, Quebec) and Shannon Leonard (Jr., Pointe Claire, Quebec) complete the Hawks' All-Conference recipients as the duo garnered Second Team notice to join Mensink in picking up their first All-Conference awards.

For 10-time Western Division and three-time defending CWPA Eastern Champion Michigan, the pair of Kiki Golden (So., Danville, Calif./Monte Vista) and Alison Mantel (Sr., Miami, Fla./Gulliver) lead the Wolverines' selections with First Team accolades.

The award is the fourth All-Conference notice for Mantel who previously earned All-Western Division recognition in 2008 (Second Team), 2009 (Second Team) and 2010 (First Team), while Golden receives her first All-Conference tap.

On the Second Team, Lauren Orth (Sr., Poway, Calif./Poway) and goalie Alex Adamson (So., Coronado, Calif./Coronado)  earn their second awards after both claimed Western Division First Team honors in 2010.

In addition, Michigan head coach Matt Anderson claims his sixth Western Division Coach of the Year in the past eight seasons.  The 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010 and 2011 selection by his peers,  he has led the Wolverines to a No. 6-national ranking this year as the squad clinched the No. 1 seed for the Eastern Championship.

For Indiana University, Lauren Wyckoff (Sr., Los Altos, Calif./Los Altos) notches her second All-Conference award with First Team honors after being recognized on the 2010 All-West Second Team, while teammate Jakie Kohli (Jr., Burnaby, B.C./St. Thomas Aquinas) earns her third certificate in the wake of First (2010) and Second (2009) Team awards following the previous two seasons.

Hoosiers' freshman Shae Fournier (Fr., Winnipeg, Manitoba/Grant Park) rounds out Indiana's All-Conference selections and the division's major award winners as she garnered attention with Second Team and Rookie of the Year laurels.

The first player in league history to earn the awards trifecta (Player of the Week, Rookie of the Week, Defensive Player of the Week) in a single season, she notched the January 24, February 7, February 28, March 14 and April 18 Western Division Rookie of the Week awards.  In addititon, Fournier picked up honors as the March 21 Western Divsion Defensive Player of the Week along with the February 28 and March 14 Western Division Co-Player of the Week as she concluded the regular season with a conference record eight weekly awards in her first collegiate season.

Three other programs earned single All-Conference players as Kandis Canonica (Sr., Burlingame, Calif./St. Ignatius Prep) of Bucknell University yields a First Team nod for her fourth honor following First (2008, 2010) and Second (2009) team recognition in the Southern Division the past three seasons.

Joining Canonica on the First Team, three-time All-West First Team student-athlete Rachel Griepsma (Sr., Lindsay, Ontario/St. Thomas Aquinas) of Mercyhurst College accomplishes a rare feat by finishing her collegiate career with a fourth consecutive First Team prize to conclude the Top Six field players in the division.

On the Second Team, Gannon University's Colleen Harriger (Jr., Erie, Pa./McDowell) concludes the 14 All-West selections as she grabs honors for a second consecutive season.

Overall, 32 student-athletes (five field players, one goalie) were nominated for All-Conference awards by their respective head coaches at Michigan, Hartwick, Indiana, Bucknell, Gannon and Mercyhurst.

West Team
Player of the Year: Charlotte Mensink (Hartwick College)
Coach of the Year: Matt Anderson (University of Michigan)
Rookie of the Year: Shae Fournier (Indiana University)
First Team
Jessica Dorman (Goalie) Hartwick College
Charlotte Mensink Hartwick College
Kiki Golden
University of Michigan
Alison Mantel University of Michigan
Lauren Wyckoff Indiana University
Kandis Canonica
Bucknell University
Rachel Griepsma Mercyhurst College
Second Team  
Alex Adamson (Goalie) University of Michigan
Lauren Orth University of Michigan
Jakie Kohli Indiana University
Shae Fournier Indiana University
Lisa Bass Hartwick College
Shannon Leonard Hartwick College
Colleen Harriger Gannon University

View: Mobile | Desktop