Collegiate Water Polo Association Announces 2010 Men's Varsity All-North & All-South Division Teams

Collegiate Water Polo Association Announces 2010 Men's Varsity All-North & All-South Division Teams

LEWISBURG, Pa. -- The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announced the 2010 Men's Varsity All-Northern Division and All-Southern Division teams during the league's Eastern Championship Banquet at the Lewisburg Hotel in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania earlier this evening. 

Princeton University goalie Mike Merlone and Brown University's Svetozar Stefanovic were named the 2010 Southern Division and Northern Division Most Valuable Players, respectively.  Bucknell University head coach John Abdou and Queens College's Or Gil received the Southern Division and Northern Division Coach of the Year honors, while Princeton University's Kurt Buchbinder and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Craig Cheney picked up the Southern Division and Northern Division Rookie of the Year awards.

Voted on by each division's head coaches, the 2010 Men's Varsity All-Conference Teams are listed below:

All-South Team

First Team

Mike Merlone  Princeton University (Goalie)
Matt Hale Princeton University
Tommy Donahue Princeton University
Luke Baldwin United States Naval Academy
Howie Kalter Bucknell University
Richie Hyden Bucknell University
Alex Whittam Johns Hopkins University
Second Team

Jeremy Selbst Johns Hopkins University (Goalie)
Ross Schofield Johns Hopkins University
Kane Ashton Mercyhurst College
Jordan Carter United States Naval Academy
Chris Cottrell Princeton University
Daniel Tyner George Washington University
Sean Coghlan Bucknell University

Coach of the Year: John Abdou (Bucknell University)
Rookie of the Year: Kurt Buchbinder (Princeton University)
Most Valuable Player: Mike Merlone (Princeton University)

All North Team

First Team

Columbus Leonard MIT (Goalie)
John Preis MIT
Ali Arat Fordham University
Boris Plavsic St. Francis College
Marko Gencic St. Francis College
Svetotzar Stefanovic Brown University
Gordon Hood Brown University

Second Team

Igor Mladenovic St. Francis College (Goalie)
James McNamara Brown University  
Ryan Hultman Fordham University
Seth Tasman Iona College
Bret Voith Harvard University
Nemanja Milijanovic Queens College
Craig Cheney MIT
Coach of the Year: Or Gil (Queens College)
Rookie of the Year: Craig Cheney (MIT)
Most Valuable Player: Svetozar Stefanovic (Brown University)

View: Mobile | Desktop